The Stampe Club was formed when Roger Hanington (now an Honorary member) ‘rounded up’ Martin Holloway, Mike Cowburn; and Frank and Joanna Esson on the 14 January 1984, the first meeting of the Stampe Club!

The first Fly-in was held on 20 May 1984 at Compton Abbas in what can be described as quite unfavourable weather conditions. Consequently, only five Stampes arrived. However, the next event was at Middle Wallop on 2 September 1984 when Mike Cowburn led a four ship formation which was followed by Brian Lacomber who gave an aerobatic display in his Jaguar sponsored Stampe.

From this modest start, the Stampe Club has developed into what is now a truly international Club of Stampe enthusiasts, representing ten different countries.